East Africa's free-trade area scheduled to open this summer

01/6/2010 | Economist (free content), The

Goods are set to start moving freely between five East African countries this summer, when the agreement creating the East African Community takes effect. The members of the free-trade area are Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda. Economists see the move as an opportunity for the region to build its manufacturing base and compete with China as a producer of low-cost goods. The big winner initially is expected to be Kenya, which has the area's strongest manufacturing, banking and retail.

View Full Article in:

Economist (free content), The

Published in Brief: