10 states will receive NCLB waivers, White House says

President Barack Obama will grant 10 states waivers today from No Child Left Behind, according to the White House. Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee will be excused from portions of the federal education law, which requires all students to be proficient in reading and math by 2014. New Mexico applied but did not receive a waiver. About 28 other states, as well as Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico, have said they intend to apply.

View Full Article in:

USA Today · New York Times (tiered subscription model), The

Published in Brief:

SmartBrief Job Listings for Education

Job Title Company Location
San Francisco Unified is Accepting Applications for 2015-16!
San Francisco Unified School District
San Francisco, CA
Director of Professional Services
Engaging Schools, Inc.
Cambridge, MA
Principal at Emerson Academy of Dayton
National Heritage Academies
Dayton, OH
Program Officer, Teacher Development
Knowles Science Teaching Foundation
Moorestown, NJ
Senior Researcher (8194)
American Institute for Researcher
Washington, DC