NCLB waivers to be approved for 10 of 11 states

02/9/2012 | USA Today

President Barack Obama is expected to grant 10 states waivers today from No Child Left Behind. Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee would be excused from portions of the federal education law -- which requires all students to be proficient in reading and math by 2014. New Mexico applied for but did not receive a waiver. About 28 other states, as well as Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico, have said they intend to apply.

View Full Article in:

USA Today

Published in Brief:

SmartBrief Job Listings for Education

Job Title Company Location
Technical Assistance Consultant (8336)
Chicago, IL
Senior ELL Technical Assistance and Curriculum Specialist (8270)
American Institute for Researcher
Chicago, IL
Technical Assistance Associate (8330)
American Institute for Researcher
Chicago, IL
Vice Principal of Academics
Presentation High School
San Jose, CA
Tapestry Public Charter School
Atlanta, GA