Alaska Senate passes bill recognizing native languages

04/22/2014 | Reuters

A bill to recognize the 20 indigenous languages spoken in Alaska received final approval with an 18-2 vote in the state's Senate on Monday. The move makes the state the second in the U.S., after Hawaii, to recognize native languages. English will remain the state's official language, but the move is seen as a significant step toward recognizing native language speakers. The bill now moves to the governor.

View Full Article in:


Published in Brief:

SmartBrief Job Listings for Education

Job Title Company Location
Research Scientist
Portland, OR
Instructional Designer, ESL
Imagine Learning, Inc.
Provo, UT
Account Executive, National Accounts
Nationwide, SL_Nationwide
Instructional Specialist
Community Training and Assistance Center
Richmond, VA
Senior Associate, School Turnaround
Community Training and Assistance Center
Richmond, VA