Facebook admits to tracking users after they're logged out

09/27/2011 | Wall Street Journal, The

Facebook has acknowledged collecting data from "like" buttons even after users log out from its services, but says it deletes the information it gathers and doesn't use it to target advertising. An Australian technologist found that unique identifiers are sent each time that users view a "like" button online, even if they're logged out of Facebook and don't click on the button; Facebook admitted that the data are sent, but said it makes no use of the information and deletes it quickly.

View Full Article in:

Wall Street Journal, The

Published in Brief:

SmartBrief Job Listings for Media

Job Title Company Location
Director, Industry Initiatives (Digital Video and AdvancedTV)
Interactive Advertising Bureau
New York, NY
Digital Ad Operations Specialist
Crain Communications
Nationwide, SL_Nationwide
Account Executive, West Coast
DeviantART
Los Angeles, CA
Web Developer
Crain's New York Business
New York, NY