1/23/2007

A rule recently proposed by FDA officials would allow foods that did not contain proteins derived from wheat, rye or barley sources to carry a gluten-free label. Companies could opt to voluntarily label foods that do not contain the protein, which is responsible for the inflammation of the small intestine in those who suffer from celiac disease.

Related Summaries