4/2/2009

Food scientists are trying to develop ways to replace shellac, sometimes called confectioner's glaze or resinous glaze, an insect-based product used to coat and protect candies such as Whoppers. Without a replacement, these products can't be considered vegetarian, and thus will sell poorly in markets such as India.

Related Summaries