Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood announced plans to create a safety council to address safety issues at the DOT's 10 modal agencies. The council would draw administrators from each of those agencies, including the Federal Railroad Administration. "The council will take our commitment to safety, which is our highest priority, to the next level," said LaHood.

Related Summaries