The committee tasked with awarding the $5 million Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership was unable to find an African leader worthy of the award this year. Committee members, who include former United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan and Nobel laureate Martti Ahtisaari, have declined to comment on the thinking behind the snub, but many observers believe the decision sends a message to African leaders to do more to promote democracy.

Related Summaries