Goods are set to start moving freely between five East African countries this summer, when the agreement creating the East African Community takes effect. The members of the free-trade area are Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda. Economists see the move as an opportunity for the region to build its manufacturing base and compete with China as a producer of low-cost goods. The big winner initially is expected to be Kenya, which has the area's strongest manufacturing, banking and retail.

Related Summaries