At least 25 lawmakers in 17 states have initiated efforts to repeal or limit the Environmental Protection Agency's authority to regulate greenhouse-gas emissions, saying such rules would have a crippling effect on the economy. Illinois, Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, South Carolina, Tennessee and Utah have passed legislation that either calls on the U.S. Congress to stop federal regulations or on the EPA to cease its climate-related plans.

Related Summaries