9/27/2011

Facebook has acknowledged collecting data from "like" buttons even after users log out from its services, but says it deletes the information it gathers and doesn't use it to target advertising. An Australian technologist found that unique identifiers are sent each time that users view a "like" button online, even if they're logged out of Facebook and don't click on the button; Facebook admitted that the data are sent, but said it makes no use of the information and deletes it quickly.

Related Summaries