Nine states have been chosen to receive a share of $500 million in federal Race to the Top grants to improve early-childhood education, White House officials announced today. The winners were chosen from 35 applicant states, plus Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. They are: California, North Carolina, Ohio, Rhode Island, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota and Washington.

Related Summaries