President Barack Obama is expected to grant 10 states waivers today from No Child Left Behind. Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee would be excused from portions of the federal education law -- which requires all students to be proficient in reading and math by 2014. New Mexico applied but did not receive a waiver. About 28 other states, as well as Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico, have said they intend to apply.

Full Story:
USA Today

Related Summaries