The Senate has confirmed President Barack Obama's nomination of Martin Gruenberg, Thomas Hoenig and Jeremiah Norton as board members of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corp., and Thomas Curry as comptroller of the currency. But the Senate did not approve Gruenberg as the FDIC's chairman and Hoenig as its vice chairman. Senators left the chairman position open, a move that would allow Republicans to fill the seat if the party wins the White House later this year.

Related Summaries