People with celiac disease or who are gluten intolerant can eat a healthy vegetarian diet if they do some extra planning to ensure they get enough nutrients and protein, registered dietitian Cheryl Harris writes. She advises including a protein source in each meal, focusing on gluten-free vegetarian staples such as beans and seeds, and eating fortified gluten-free foods such as cereals and breads.

Related Summaries