Two more New Mexico counties, Santa Fe and Bernalillo, have started issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples following Judge Alan Malott's ruling that marriage-license prohibitions are "unconstitutional and unenforceable." Prior to Malott's decision, another judge issued a preliminary ruling allowing Santa Fe County to issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples. Bernalillo County contains Albuquerque, the state's largest city, while Santa Fe County is home to the state capital. Doña Ana County began issuing licenses to same-sex couples last week.

Related Summaries