A Senate measure introduced this week would make permanent the current prohibition on state and local taxes on Internet access service. The Internet Tax Freedom Forever Act is co-sponsored by Sens. Ron Wyden, D-Ore., and John Thune, R-S.D. The current Internet Tax Freedom Act became law in 1998, has been renewed three times and is set to expire on Nov. 1, 2014.

Related Summaries