A bill to recognize the 20 indigenous languages spoken in Alaska received final approval with an 18-2 vote in the state's Senate on Monday. The move makes the state the second in the U.S., after Hawaii, to recognize native languages. English will remain the state's official language, but the move is seen as a significant step toward recognizing native language speakers. The bill now moves to the governor.

Full Story:

Related Summaries